lunduniversity.lu.se

Education in Chemistry

Lund University

Denna sida på svenska This page in English

KEMM29 Molecular spectroscopy - methods and applications

The course is worth 15 credits and runs full time during the second half of the spring semester.

The course introduces a variety of optical spectroscopy tools and methods for studying molecules and materials. Electronic processes that can be excited by light are considered. We discuss on an advanced level how these methods together with data analysis are used to investigate chemical and physical properties. Additionally, some spectroscopy skills are practiced is in a couple of laboratory sessions.

Course material and communication

All online course material can be found on canvas. You will only have access to the course in canvas after you have been registered. Communication with students taking the course will primarily be sent out to their student email. 

In case of absence

In case you are ill or will miss mandatory classes for any other reason an e-mail should be sent to the course responsible (Donatas Zigmantas). For the labs also cc lab administrator Sophie Manner.

Information

KEMM29 Molecular Spectroscopy - Methods and Applications replaces KEMM19 Optical Methods in Molecular Spectroscopy from autumn term 2019. 

Course Coordinator

Donatas Zigmantas
046-222 47 39
donatas.zigmantas@chemphys.lu.se

Course literature

Bernard Valeur 
Molecular Fluorescence: Principles and Applications
2001


Additional helping literature:
Atkins, P.W. & De Paula, J.
Physical Chemistry
Latest edition. Oxford University Press,

Claude Rulliere
Femtosecond Laser Pulses
2005

Lakowicz
Principles if Fluorescence Spectroscopy

Parson, William W
Modern Optical Spectroscopy
2015

Other lecturers

Tõnu Pullerits
046-222 81 31
Tonu.Pullerits@chemphys.lu.se

Ivan Scheblykin
046-222 48 48
ivan.scheblykin@chemphys.lu.se

Jens Uhlig
046-222 77 20
Jens.Uhlig@chemphys.lu.se

Arkady Yartsev
046-222 08 65
Arkady.Yartsev@chemphys.lu.se

Course assistants

Lab engineer

Saywan Jamal
046-222 83 59
saywan.jamal@kilu.lu.se 

Lab administrator

Sophie Manner
046-222 83 63
studierektor@kemi.lu.se 

Course representative

Spring 2021